Norsk Rikstoto is an independent foundation which was established in 1982. Norsk Rikstoto has a Government issued license for all horse betting in Norway. Racetracks (12) are responsible for sport events. The racing authorities Det Norske Travselskap (The Norwegian Trotting Association) and Norsk Jockeyklub (The Norwegian Jockeyclub) are responsible for all sport matters, keeper of the stud books and further development of the horseracing industry.


Main annual races

Trotting Races: (International Races)

– Oslo Grand Prix, Oslo, Bjerke, May

– Forus Open, Stavanger, Forus, July

– Ulf Thoresen Memorial, Tonsberg, Jarlsberg, July

– Axel Jensen Memorial, Oslo, Bjerke, November

Gallop Races (International races – approved by the European Pattern Committee) :

– Polar Cup, (GR 3),Oslo, Ovrevoll, August

– Marit Sveaas Memorial, (GR 3), Oslo, Ovrevoll, August